Unforeseen change

David Bowie said it best: “I still don’t know what I was waiting for, And my time was running wild, A million dead-end streets, Every time I thought I’d got it made, It seemed the taste was not so sweet… Time may change me, but I can’t trace time” Sept. 28th was the last day of the existence of the department I had been part of for the past 8 years. Leadership had decided that the best route for future direction would be to outsource the firm wide department. Needless to say, everyone was shocked. Two months after the initial announcement, I had a different position with the same company and was fortunate enough to have avoided being part of the outsourcing. Not the same for my co-workers. Most applied for and were offered jobs with outsourcing firm, a job yes, but belive me, not the best job offer. Others chose a different direction that suited them much better.

Regardless of the path that someone takes, it’s always hard to deal with change that you have no control over. Being told your department won’t be part of the company anymore can be life-changing. How one deals with the change is the most important thing. I can say everyone that was affected by this change, dealt with it in the best way possible. After the shock wore off, everyone thought of what they needed to do that was best for them and moved on. For me, it meant leaving my department and taking on a new role. This change was good for me – I had been thinking about looking for something different, I just hadn’t wanted it to be because someone else had pushed me in that direction.

The first time I recall an unforeseen change happening to me was during the summer right before my senior year in high school. My family had to leave our home in the suburbs and move out to a house in the country. I remember not being happy about this at all. I packed up my room about two days before we had to be out of our house and I was so angry. Being 17, I was a bit self-centered and couldn’t accept the change very easily. My senior year was very hard – a senior class of about 40 people who had known each other all their lives. And here I come, the girl from the city who looked and dressed different. Thankfully, most of the people I met were friendly and welcoming. I eventually adjusted, but didn’t stay in the country for long – moving back to the city about a year and a half after hs graduation.

This most recent change was just as abrupt as my senior year high school move. However, I dealt with it much better this time around. Yes, I was still shocked and angry, but I knew I couldn’t let the anger drive me this time. I hope others out there who had to deal with unforeseen change can find a way to make it work for them as well. It may offer a better opportunity or just a chance to learn about yourself and how you deal with things. David Bowie has made a career of change – I can only hope I’m as successful in my career of change as well.

Leave a Reply

