Eight week reading challenge – Day Four

Day four – one book down, seven to go.  Just completed World War Z by Max Brooks.  A surprisingly compelling read with interviews from the survivors of the Zombie war, World War Z is a telling of how the world managed to beat the ever-growing zombie hoards  Somewhat disturbing to think what has to be done to many in order for more to survive.  If you are a fan of zombies, this is a book you must read.  Will be interesting to see how the movie turns out.

So, big question is: what book do I read next?  Strategic planning is paramount to my success in this eight week challenge.  Choosing to read the wrong book at the wrong time could spell doom and set me up to fail.  I’m drawn to each book, but which is the right choice to read now?  I think I’ll go with the YA novel by Heather Brewer – Second Chance (The Slayer Chronicles).  Reason behind this selection is simple: ease of reading.  I throughly enjoyed the author’s first series Vladimir Tod and read the first book of this Slayer series in one day.  Not to say that “ease” equals a lightweight book – sometimes simple means pure enjoyment, which is what I’m hoping for in my second selection in the eight week challenge.

Hopefully selection two will be enjoyable and moves me along to book three in just a few days.  Happy reading to all and hope anyone else working on their own challenge plots a successful strategy as well!

Leave a Reply

