Reading challenge – week three

On to week three of my 8 week reading challenge and I’m onto book four.  Finished Brain on Fire on Wednesday and have to say it was a very good book.  Susannah Cahalan’s pieced together recollection of month which she has no memory of is a very well written and engaging read.  Filled with details about the effects of an autoimmune disease that almost went undiagnosed, this book is compelling and scary at the same time.  I highly recommend it.

As for the reading challenge, after finishing Brain on Fire on Wednesday, I hadn’t read a single page of the other books until today.  It’s an odd occurence that happens now and again.  Usually I’m compelled to start another book as soon as I finish one.  However, this is one of those times where I just didn’t feel like it.  This was not due to the occasional “book hangover” – where you can’t start another book because you are still so wrapped up in the characters and story of the last – but more of a “I just need a break from reading” feel.  This is another distraction (if that’s the right word) to my reading challenge.  However, given I’m on to book four and am in the third week, things are still looking good.

Off to read some more.  I hope everyone can find comfort in a book, one way or another, and that it eases the mind.

Leave a Reply

