Reading Challenge – One week left

Seven weeks down and I’ve just completed my third book.  A rather disappointing status for my 8 week, 8 books challenge.  I finished reading Mossad, which is about the Israeli secret service.  I am endlessly fascinated about intelligence operations, whether good or bad, and found this book to be well researched and a little shocking at times.  I can’t help but be drawn into the stories of how covert operations are planned out and put into action.  This book highlights some of the more well-known operations of Mossad over the past sixty years.  I try not to look at covert operations from a political view – I just like to read about how they are planned and the consequences of the actions of all involved.  I think it’s good to know about what is happening out in the world and the lengths people will go to for their country.
So – one week left and four books yet to read (well, 3.5 actually).  encouraging thought is that I have this week off from work and plan on reading at least one more before week’s end.  The discouraging thought is that I start-up school again at the end of the week and will have so much other reading to do besides for my ever-growing pile of “to read” books.  The one book that tripped me up is The Passage by Justin Cronin.  I thought the book started out good but then, for me, it started to get sluggish.  I was confused at times about what was going on and felt there isn’t much background given.  The author seems to start writing about something different and it takes me a long time to determine who the person is and what their connection is.  Needless to say, I’ve placed this book aside after getting about halfway through and will leave it to be the last one.

My hope is to succeed in my challenge but know that realistically success may not be possible.  Hope all out there have a good week and happy reading!

One response to “Reading Challenge – One week left

Leave a Reply

