Under the Dome – T.V. Series

On Monday, CBS debuted their version of Stephen King’s 1,072 page opus Under the Dome. I read the book back when it first came out in 2009 and have to admit my memory of what happened is a bit on the fuzzy side.  I recall enjoying the book but the specifics of it have since escaped me.

Given I’m a raging King fan, I was more than willing to give this series a shot and view it.  I have to say I was happy with the first episode.  It wasn’t excellent, but not too many of King’s book to T.V. shows are.  I know the writers changed quite a few things from the book.  Since I don’t recall the details I’m good with the changes.  One thing I do recall is the rather gruesome death of an animal in the book – a woodchuck, changed to a cow for the show.  I thought this was a good change since it was a better representation of the arrival of the dome.  A bigger target to show the effect of being cut off.  Another thing that changed (I’ve read in read in reviews, full disclosure since I don’t recall this fact) is that the sound doesn’t travel through the dome as in does in the book.  Again, I’m good with this change.  I think it’s a good effect of showing how the town is cut off from the outside world and is in its own realm.  Lots of characters in the book as well as in the show.  The book actually has a three page list of the main characters at the beginning.  Always a scary sign when reading a book and being given a list of who’s who before even starting :-).

King’s book to movie/T.V. have been hit or miss for me.  Some I’ve loved and some I’ve hated.  The ones that seem as if they’d be more of a successful to me are the ones where the “evil” character is more on the human side rather than on the imagination side (e.g. Annie Wilkes from Misery vs., say, Pennywise from It).  Given The Dome is an inanimate object I think this series will be a good translation.  CBS did a good job of promoting The Dome – not too in your face and featuring the dome in many of its promos.  Future episodes will tell if this series is successful or not.  This T.V. junkie is hoping its good.

How about you – what are your favorite King book to movies?  Any books you wish would be made into a movie or a T.V. series?

2 responses to “Under the Dome – T.V. Series

  1. I just finished watching the pilot and thought it was pretty decent. Of my top three characters on the show so far, one of them didn’t make to the end of the episode. I’m already rooting for a couple of characters to bite the dust. 🙂 I haven’t read the book so I’m intrigued in the mystery behind the dome and how the town will cope.

    Eyes of the Dragon is a great novel that I’ve read ages ago but I can’t picture it as a movie or miniseries from what little I can remember of it.

    • Eyes of the Dragon is one King book I haven’t read – will have to check it out. Hoping the third episode of Under the Dome is a little better. The second one was a bit lacking and the acting seemed a bit stiff.

Leave a Reply

