Book Store Love and a Reading Challenge

Ahh – the bookstore.  So full of potential, so many books to buy and read, so easy to spend hours and hours there.

image from forbes.com

One of my favorite things to do isto go to the bookstore, peruse the titles, and leave with hopefully at least three new books to read.  It’s almost as if I’m physically incapable of leaving the store without a book.  Every Tuesday, when a lot of th

e new books are released, I’ll check out the new releases and make note of which books I’ll need to pick up.  There are also the release dates of the books I know are coming out and will put on my calendar so I won’t forget.

There is just something about the vibe of a bookstore that makes me feel like it’s a natural place to be.  It feels as though it’s a scholarly place but not one that is full of pretense or will make someone feel inferior if they don’t know everything.  I’ve gone to the bookstore with particular books in mind and I’ve gone with absolutely no idea about what book I’ll want to pick up.  I’ll always find myself walking around looking through the different sections and the next thing I know it’s 2 hours later.  Sometimes I haven’t found anything and other times I’ll have a stack of books and will have to, reluctantly, decide which ones to put back since I don’t want to spend a massive amount of money.

The sad thing about bookstores is that there seems to be less and less of them. The advent of Amazon.com as well as e-readers and the ability to download books means fewer people are making a trip to the bookstore.   I read a brief article on Forbes.com stating the need for stores to evolve with technology.  While I do agree with that idea I also think we need to remember and experience the feeling of getting out and actually living the vibe of the bookstore.   It makes you feel alive and as though you are connecting with both the tangible (people, physical books) and the intangible (the story in the writer’s mind, the image in our head).

As part of my quest to keep bookstores in business and to have regular posts on my blog, I’m taking part in The Mad Reviewer 2014 Reading Challenge. I’ve signed up for the slightly sane reviewer challenge – read 26 books during 2014 year and review all 26 of them on mThe Mad Reviewer Reading Challenge Buttony blog.  The Mad Reviewer will check to be sure I’ve met my end of the bargain and, if so, I’ll be placed in a drawing.  I’ll be sure to mark any book reviews with the button to the right.  I’m adding my own little twist to this challenge – I’m going to make sure every book I read is bought from a bookstore.  Meaning, I must have gotten into my car, drove to the bookstore, and purchased the book from there.  No ordering on-line (which I don’t do too often) or borrow the book from anyone. My way of keeping brick and mortar stores in business as well as experience the awesome bookstore vibe in person.

So keep on reading but don’t forget about the rewards of the bookstore.   Physical books are great as well as visiting a place that temporarily houses those wonderful books.

2 responses to “Book Store Love and a Reading Challenge

  1. Fun! I’m already trying to read 52 books this year, but if I can win something for doing it . . . even better! I also like your goal of buying them all from a bookstore. I’ve got a couple local bookstores that I love and would hate to see them go out of business. : )

    • Good luck – Hope you meet your goal! I believe I’ll read more then 26 books but didn’t want to commit to 52 just in case I’m not able to do so. It makes me sad to hear when any bookstore goes out of business so anything that can be done to keep them open helps.

Leave a Reply

