Christopher Moore – In the Flesh!

Last week Thursday I had the excellent opportunity to go to an author event for Christopher Moore, who is making the rounds for his new book The Serpent of Venice.  Here he is talking about his book, the process of writing for this this book, and why he did another Shakespeare themed book.IMG_11212880656741

It was really interesting to hear him explain how he came up with the idea – all the connections and how they played out in his book.  It wasn’t too long of an event – about an hour of time from the author with about 15 or twenty minutes for questions from the audience.  One of the most entertaining answers from Moore was when someone asked if he had any advice for other wIMG_11176955065411riters. Moore’s reply was: “I’d tell you to be sure to attend to your customers and be sure they have their drinks.  Make sure you get their order right, etc.”  which he then explained was a snarky answer to you have do something else while trying get your book published.  He explained he didn’t sell his first book until he was about 33 (I can’t recall the exact age he said so that may be wrong), so if he did nothing else he’d have been homeless and maybe dead.  I thought that was a great answer that was honest and real.  Unless you are independently wealthy, then you could just focus on writing a book, but seems like most people need to work real hard at something else in order to make their main dream come true.

I haven’t had a chance to read his new book yet, but given I’ve loved almost every other book he wrote, I’m thinking I’ll like this one too.  I’ll post a review once I get to read it.  After the talk Moore signed and personalized the books, which was a great opportunity to meet him, briefly, one on one.

On the left is me getting my book signed (no, spring has not arrived where I live yet) IMG_11199676872215and on the right is the inscription. Another reason why this event was so much fun was that my best friend caIMG_11186581679176me down to attend as well.  She lives about a six hour drive away so I don’t get to see her too
often – bonus for me, seeing an author I love and my getting to spend time with my best friend!  I hope other out there have had the opportunity to see an author that they like in person and get a book signed.  It’s such a fantastic thing for fans and a great way to gain a bit more insight into the writer.

A big thanks to Christopher Moore for stopping in my city and for the local bookstore that hosted this event.  I’m looking forward to the next time he stops by!

Leave a Reply

