The X-Files is Returning!

The X-Files will be back for a six episode run! Rumors had been going around and some statements were made about a possible return, but now it’s been confirmed by creator Chris Carter.  After a 13 year break David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson will be back as Mulder and Scully.

I’ve posted before on how much I love The X-Files in my Shows Worth Watching post and now official news that it will be returning is good to hear.  Admittedly, I have some trepidation about a favorite show coming back after such a long time being off the air.  Recently, 24 came back for a successful limited show run but 24 didn’t have the big gap in time that The X-Files has had.  Will Mulder and Scully still be relevant?  How will today’s technology affect the story lines and action of the agents? Will the Lone Gunmen make an appearance (how could they not given today’s plethora of outlets to report conspiracy theories, etc.)?

I’m keeping my hopes up that when the shows do finally air, they are able to please life-long fans as well as attract new ones.  Keeping the main original actors and the creator involved is a good sign but judgment will be held until then.  Are you an X-Files fan?  If so, what are your thoughts of the show returning for a limited run? Do you think this is a good idea? I’d love to hear what others think!

6 responses to “The X-Files is Returning!

  1. I think a limited run makes more sense than a big 22 episode season. It gives the writers a chance to concentrate their creative energy into fewer episodes. As for themes, I suppose in the post 9/11 age there is a lot of intelligence white noise that Mulder and Scully can react to, a new breed of cigarette smoking men and stuff for the Lone Gunmen to get excited about.

    What might be a killer is if Duchovny and Anderson don’t have the same enthusiasm for the show and it comes out in their performances. But at least we’ll have a chance to see it and judge.

    Chris

    • Completely agree about a limited run return. A whole season wouldn’t seem right and may have been excessive. Duchovny and Anderson have been tweeting about the return so hopefully their enthusiasm plays out in their acting. If either come across bored or disinterested it will kill the whole thing.

  2. I’m excited by this news, I just hope they can pull it off with quality stories and recapture the character dynamics. I’m also glad that David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson will be back as Mulder and Scully instead of a reboot. I’m fine with a limited 6 episode run. If it’s successful the network can order more.

    • Yeah, if the story quality is poorly written or poorly played out it will be disappointing. I think the lack of character dynamics in the last two seasons was a big reason those episodes aren’t the best. Also don’t want the episodes to just be fan service. Too many shows worry about giving fans what they want instead of what a story needs. Hopefully Chis Carter was able to take something away from the final seasons and why they didn’t quite live up to the overall series. So looking forward to see what is done!

  3. One of my all-time favorites, so I’m definitely excited. I hope it turns out well. While it might not, the end of the series proper was pretty messy and the last movie only okay, so I’m not sure I see this new series leaving things in that much worse of a spot even if it isn’t the best thing ever. It has been a while though, so it will be interesting to see what they do with it. Plus how they handle such a small order in regards to mythology vs. cases and stuff like that. More Mulder and Scully though… I just can’t turn it down.

    • Great point about the series ending and the blah second movie. A new limited series can’t be any worse (at least I hope so). Will be very interesting to see if they throw any mythology in there. Given the limited run, not sure how in depth they can get. I also wonder if they’ll go back to the “I want to believe” mantra that seemed to disappear with the last two seasons and the 2nd movie. In any event, no doubt this will be highly watched when it finally premieres.

Leave a Reply

